TN visa for a new graduate

MrCHR

First of all, thank you everyone for being so helpful and informative in this forum. I've tried to research the forum before posting here and learned a lot but unfortunately I am still not sure about some details.

Two years ago I graduated from University with a B.Comm degree in IT program that is specialized in Business Systems Analysis. Due to various reasons, until now I have never worked in the field but at this point I want to find a junior position and to start my way up. I am interested to live for some time in US and want to apply for some junior positions there.

From what I understand, my degree can qualify under the Computer Systems Analyst category and I should be able to obtain the TN visa. I would really appreciate if someone could clarify some things for me:

1. Based on my case, do you think I will have troubles to obtain the visa? (from what I understand, experience is not mandatory)
2. Do I have any chances in getting a junior position with a TN visa or employers usually ignore international applicants that have no experience?
3. What is the right sequence of tasks? Should I apply for visa first and then apply for jobs or vise versa? Do I need to present a valid job offer during the visa application?
4. Are there any major limitations in living and working under the TN visa in US? (switching jobs, buying a car, etc...)
5. If I want to clarify more details before driving to the border, is there a way to contact them over the phone? In general, do they answer questions?

For questions 3 and 4 I have seen answers on the web but they are contradictory. Therefore, I would like to clarify them here.

I am sorry for the long post and thank you in advance!

Last edited:
1. It is possible to obtain TN without experience, I have met a people fresh out of masters program who obtained TN
2. It will be difficult. TN is usually for experience people with skills in demand.