TN Visa Denial; can I remove the flag from my file?

rudeturnover

Hello!

I'm a management consultant based out of Canada (citizen) working for a large global firm. 10 months ago I went to the U.S. to go to a conference - I didn't need a Visa for this but decided to apply for a TN Visa anyways in case I needed to do some client work in the United States - I didn't want to break the law. I have the right qualifications but ended up getting denied because my employer's law firm wrote the phrase "project management" in my application, which doesn't align with the NAFTA definition of management consulting (my fault for missing this).

Since then, I have gone to the U.S. three more times. Once for a work conference, once for work training, and once for leisure. I was allowed into the country each time, but directed to secondary screening each time. This process is quite time intensive and stressful. I'm terrified for an upcoming trip to New York I have planned, even though it's only 10 days and I have full documentation for return flight, hotel, and my paystubs / rent payments in Canada. If by some whim the agent turns me and my partner back, that's $5K down the drain.

I have two questions
1. Are there any other steps I can take to make sure I don't get denied entry for my upcoming vacation? I just want to cover all my bases.
2. Is there anything I can do to address the TN Visa Denial flag on my file? I have no intention of working in the U.S. at all. My firm has only staffed me on Canada based work since the rejection, and will continue to do so.

Thank you so much!

If you have been granted entry 3x since, why are you now suddenly scared you may be denied entry?

Did some other incident happen since then that makes you worried?

INS obviously is not going to erase your attempted application from their records. They want as much information as possible to accurately assess visitors.