TN Visa - Canada US trips

isabel18

Hi

I have been holding a TN visa(Management Consultant) since 2015 and was renewed in Jan 2017 for another period of 2 years(with 0 questions asked)....expiring Jan 2019.

I have been travelling now since 2015 back home to Canada for long weekends without any issues ...however on my latest trip to Canada and return back to US by bus ...i had a really hard time..the officer just kept saying go back and work in Canada ...i said i was a Mgmt Consultant working for xyz company on TN in the US ...I also voluntarily offered to show him my TN petition ...to which he said sure...he took time to read the petition and said u r no way a Mgmt Consultant and kept repeating i should go back and work in Canada and that i would not be granted another TN visa ..i was kind of taken a back with this behavior and attitude but i stood calm without raising any questions ...then he made a small note on piece of paper i think about my xyz company and just pushed my petition and passport towards me without saying anything... i at this point not sure whether i was done with him ... but just took my petition and passport and got back on the bus.

Are there any red flags here ...i am really concerned.

Thanks

A few questions so that it helps everyone on this forum :
  1. What was your port of entry, have you used the same port of entry previously?
  2. When you say "and got back on the bus" do you mean he let you enter the US ?
  3. Did you check online for your latest I-94, were there any remarks there?
  4. Please let us know if you are a born Canadian, usually unless they have other issues like (DUI etc) I work with many of them who travel back and forth , they have never mentioned anything like this.
As for your question, I dont think there are any red flags. If you are going to renew next time use an I-129 as you can continue to work while it is being processed.

Thanks for providing all of us with more information.

See ans inline italics