Student visa with criminal record? Need help

lastchance11

Hi all,

I am in a difficult situation.

When I was 18 I went to learn English (I am an international student) Santa Barbara and got drunk. I was arrested and resisted my arrest. As a consequence I went to court. I was charged with M 148 (a) (1) - Resist a police officer and M 647 (f) disorderly conduct. In court I was offered a deal by the fiscal and plead guilty of 415 (a) PC ("disturbing the peace.") and paid a fine of 600 $.

Today, 8 years later, I have been offered a place in a master at Columbia for this Fall and am really worried about my criminal record may affect my prospects of studying in the US. I am really keen on any advice that you might give me.

Am I going to be denied access to the US or it will just make the visa process longer?
I also thought of applying for expunging my conviction as I don´t have any other record elsewhere but in any case it will not arrive for the visa application.

Anyone experiences with similar cases or any thoughts?

I will really appreciate any help. Thanks.

You may have to consider studying abroad, but you hate the thought process or the details of a student visa application in detail. However, if you have life-long dream of studying abroad, you should not let paperwork prevent you simple. All you have to do is send your application. If your school choose to accept you as a student, review your achievements and abilities, and their admissions office will help you prepare for your student visa.

Last edited by a moderator:
I had promised myself that I would do this if I got my Green Card. So this is just me fulfilling my duty and my promise to myself.