Self-employment options in EB2 EAD while pending GC

ancel

Person: I am an international student from a country where the EB2 priority date is current. I am just completing a Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics, with applications to mathematical modeling for problems that arise in cardiovascular diseases, and also show up in aerodynamics. I submitted an EB2 NIW application (concurrent filing) in February 2020 (based on my masters degree, my publications, and letters of recommendation from some medical experts that I've never met, and a professor in my field who vouches that even without the PhD yet I have a strong profile). In my application I made arguments for national relevance based on medical importance of the work. The USCIS got my thumbprints just before the coronavirus lockdown - then they sent me a letter saying they are continuing to work on it despite the lockdown. Since I already applied for NIW, I can't get OPT. When I applied in February I was hoping to have the EAD in hand by the time I graduate, but that hasn't happened by now. I am in "pending Adjustment of status" status meanwhile, since my student status will expire. I seem to have a strong application so I think I might get the Adjustment of Status.