RTD - Validity

RAsylee

Registered Users (C)
I have been obtaining RTD for past 5 years. RTD is always issued for one year from the date of issue. I use it to travel to Canada only, few times a year. But since it expires in one year, I have to request for RTD every year and also to obtain a Canadian Visa every year after the RTD has been issued.

I was curious that if some one knows that RTD can be issued for a period longer than one year? Any information about this will be appreciated.

same problem

i have the same exact problem. I apply RTD and Canadian Visa but only use it a couple of times a year! Its very sad that we have to get a new RTD every year.

RTDs are only issued for one year duration under current immigration. In Germany they issue for 10 years and people become citizens before their RTD expires. But this is America. Capatalist money hungry government. So be prepared for it.

I think the issue is not just that the government wants more money. The issue is the disgraceful treatment with which asylee are treated in this country. The implicit message is: we will follow the Geneva convention and grant you asylum however, we will treat you with suspicion and will never consider you one of us unless you really spend at least 10 or 15 years begging to get the green card. My honest advice to anyone who would pursuit this path is to be patient more than he ever was in his life.

Originally posted by shamshon
I think the issue is not just that the government wants more money. The issue is the disgraceful treatment with which asylee are treated in this country. The implicit message is: we will follow the Geneva convention and grant you asylum however, we will treat you with suspicion and will never consider you one of us unless you really spend at least 10 or 15 years begging to get the green card. My honest advice to anyone who would pursuit this path is to be patient more than he ever was in his life.