Re-entry Permit application during COVID | Can it be filed from India?

arjung

Registered Users (C)
Hi All,

I am working in India for an Indian subsidiary of a USA Headquartered company.
My Re-entry permit expires on 20 Jun 2021.
My first re-entry permit was valid from Feb 2017 to Feb 2019, but I moved to India in Feb, 2018. (been working in the India for around 3 years and 1 months)
in 2019, I came to USA to file the I-131 Travel document. and came to USA again in few months later in 2019 for finger printing.

1. Considering Pandemic, can we I do the re-entry application process through a USA consulate in India?
  2. If not, do I need to come to USA 2 times like I did in 2019. First time to file the I-131 petition and second time to do the finger printing?
  3. Since I have been working in India for round 3 years and 1 months, when my re-entry permit get renewed, how much additional time I Will get? Is it the same 2 years?

Thanks,
Arjun Ganesh

1. No
2. Unless they decide your last biometrics are recent enough to reuse, yes
3. From the instructions for i131: “Generally, a Reentry Permit issued to a lawful permanent resident is valid for 2 years from the date of issuance. See 8 CFR section 223.3(a)(1). However, if you have been outside the United States for more than 4 of the last 5 years since becoming a lawful permanent resident, the permit will be limited to 1 year”

Susie, Thanks for your quick response.
1) Please confirm, to file my Re-entry permit, I-131, I have to travel to USA and file the application? or
Due to COVVID, Can I file the my Re-entry permit, I-131, application from India?
2) If I have to come to USA to file, My Re-entry permit expires on 20 Jun 2021. So as along as I arrive in the USA before Jun 20, 2021 I will be allowed to enter the US at the port of the entry. Then mail my application and then return to India rite?
3) Based on your point 2 in your above response
"2. Unless they decide your last biometrics are recent enough to reuse, yes"