Question regarding Citizenship Status of Child Born Abroad

Rookii

Hi All!

New to the forums here.

My situation is that I am a naturalized citizen. I have been staying abroad since 2016 and got married to a non-US Citizen in 2018. One of my children was born in 2020 and the other in 2021.

My questions are as follow:
1. Do I directly apply for their US Passports from the US Embassy?
2. Or Do I need to apply for their citizenship? If so, is it the form N-600k?

I looked up stuff on their USCIS site and was thoroughly confused.

Regards.

The key thing to determine is whether your children were automatically US citizens at birth. The rules for US citizenship at birth for children born abroad are summarized here. Basically, for a child born abroad, after 1986, in wedlock, to one US citizen parent and one alien parent, the child is automatically a US citizen at birth if the US citizen parent (you in this case) had been physically present in the US before the birth of the child for a cumulative total of 5 years, including 2 years after you turned 14. This includes time you were present in the US in any status, including time you were a US citizen, permanent resident, nonimmigrant, or illegal immigrant. If you are a naturalized citizen, you most likely meet this condition, since you normally need to have been a permanent resident for 5 years to naturalize anyway (though you don't need to have been physically present the whole 5 years to naturalize, so there are some edge cases where you would not meet the condition).

If you met the condition at the time of your children's births, the kids are already US citizens, and you should apply for both a CRBA and a US passport for them at a US consulate.