Need Help.... DESPERADO

julian19

Hello,

I have been married to a US citizen for 3 months now. We have been living together for almost a year and a half. We just had a beautiful baby boy. Everything was perfect until recently my wife kinda has started acting weird. I have been abused all these times but I was trying to work things out. Now It seems that she doesn't want me any more. My question to you all is ... I haven't applied for a green card. I came to the States on a B-1 almost 3 years ago and I overstayed my visa. I am in hot soup. PLEASE HELP ???

Re: Need Help

Hello JK,

I am not an expert... but I believe that you have the right to petition to stay here if you have been in an abusive situation with your American spouse. Since you have a baby together, I would think you should also have more right to stay here.

If you've overstayed your visa and haven't filed for a visa to stay here as a spouse of a U.S. Citizen, you should file for that immediately. However, I've read newspaper articles about spouses being deported when their paperwork was late. Sometimes it is the immigrations officials that are late in processing the paperwork. Other times it is the immigrants themselves that are late in filing the paperwork.

Can you afford to see an immigration lawyer for advice? Where are you located?

Karen

thank you for concern

Hello there,

I have been married to this girl for almost 3 months now. I have been living with her for a year and half now. We are still married. We just had a baby boy. He was a little premature. ( 5 and 1/2 weeks). He is still in the hospital cause they said they gonna monitor him for a couple of weeks more.