N400 with arrest record for shoplifting

Pashley5

Registered Users (C)
Hello all,
I wanted to get some opinion on my case. I have been staying here in the US since 2003. In January 2005, I got arrested for retail theft in IL for $41 sweater and was put on supervision for a yr. There was no probation, no jail time, and no conditional discharge. In IL, retail theft supervision 1st offense less than $500 is considered misdemeanor without a conviction. After a year in March 2006 the case was discharged. This year I applied for expungement which was approved and is in process. I finally applied for citizenship last week after waiting for 5 years after the case was discharged. This is the only thing on my record. I did mention it in the application and said yes for arrest, charged with a crime and convicted with a crime (even thought there was no conviction). I have also sent the supporting documents with the case. In addition, I have retained an attorney for application process and interview.

I would like to know if there will be any difficulty with getting my citizenship. I am applied in Newark, NJ and sent my application to Dallas, TX. Can you share your experiences and opinion?

I am getting very anxious to find the end result but I have to wait few months for that. If there is anything I can do to help my application, please let me know.

Thanks everyone.

You shouls not have any problems during the interview. You will be approved. if you dont get in trouble during this process.

why do you lie to yourself, there was a conviction and you are a thief. Don't sugar coat it. Furthermore, you're a idiot for having a attorney go with you, but what the hell, it is your $300 a hour.

HI dafortycal,

It is not a conviction in IL.. this has been confirmed with the court and lawyer.. also i wasn't trying to sugar coat it.. I was just explaining the whole scenario.. if u cant help, then dont pass judgement.. and u are right. it is my money so i can get a lawyer if i want..