N-400 and Criminal Record

mikej

Hello!
I have been a US Permanent Resident, through my ex-wife, for 5 years now. I am trying to apply for Citizenship but I am a bit worried, as I have 2 arrest records: (1 back in 2000 for a misdemeanor terroristic threat) and (1 in 2007 for a misdemeanor domestic violence involving ex-wife and our 2-year-old child). Ex was overdosing on meds. and cutting herself in front of our child. I tried to hold her down but she claimed I choked her... The 1st record has already been disclosed to USCIS when I was applying for my AOS. Both cases were eventually dismissed.
Now, my question is how would this affect my application for Citizenship? What should I do? Do I skip Citizenship, although I want it bad? I was planning on filing for Citizenship pro se in the next few weeks.
Thank you for your valuable input!

z28eater

Registered Users (C)
I know from my personal experience USCIS likes to see at least 5 years since an arrest. Even though it sounds like you don't have a criminal record. If I were you I would consult with a few attorney's and see what they have to say. Good luck.

mimo1609

Registered Users (C)
Talk to a lawyer, before you send your application I'm in the exact same situations but i'm in troubles because I didn't Disclose the two arrests in my N400 application out of ignorance, so please do do the same mistake and ask an immigration lawyer first....best of luck

mikej

Also, I am planning to leave the US for a vacation overseas, so I was wondering if such arrest records would affect my coming back?
Thank you for your input!

z28eater

Registered Users (C)
I don't know if the arrest's would effect you coming back. It may it may not. I would definitely check with an attorney on that. You may be asked that question at POE, if so get a copy of your dispositions from the court as to what the out come was for those arrests.

danen1973

Registered Users (C)
@mimo1609