Missing Entry Stamp On Passport.

GRAZIELLA30

I am a permanent resident and I noticed my Brazilian passport does not have an entry stamp when I came back from Brazil from a vacation trip. The US immigration officer did not stamp my passport upon entry into Miami Int’l Airport. Now I am applying for my citizenship and I am afraid that his could be an issue. So in the last 5 years I had 8 trips but I have only 7 entry stamps on my passport. The only document that I have is my eletronic ticket from this trip. So... what should I do before I send my Form N-400 Application for Naturalization ? Thanks !

I guess you should hold onto to the boarding pass stub and other paperwork that shows that you actually took the trip (not just buying for the trip) and also the date of the return trip etc.... During interview, if the IO actually goes through your passport stamps and asks for the missing stamp, then show the documents while explaining that the POE officer possibly forgot to stamp it and you noticed it only recently. BTW, there should be a exit stamp from the Brazilian immigration on the day you returned to USA with the missing entry stamp right? You can also talk about it during interview. You should be fine I guess.

I guess you are ok, because i had many trips abroad and when you returned via road or sea, they don't stamp your passport, they just swipe your GC. I know they usually stamp an entry on your PP when you return by flight but I don't have entry stamp on my PP when I returned many times from Canada, remember the US immigration is at Canadian airport when you return from Canada and they just swiped the GC. This is just my thought though....

Passports don't always get stamped for one reason or another. The IO may look at the passport and ask about missing stamps, but it is for reference only. You are not expected to start showing boarding passes or to produce additional evidence of the trips. Don't worry, it's a non issue.

Thank you !