Marrying green card holder

Silver.W

Hi everyone I have a very urgent question. I am a Chinese citizen with a Canadian work permit for 3 years. I met my boyfriend 3 years ago when I was a student in Canada. He is a US green card holder. Half year ago I found myself pregnant(while my Canadian work permit is still valid thru 2021) and moved in with my boyfriend to US under a tourist visa. Technically everything is fine for now - I haven't overstayed yet. My tourist visa will expire in ten years but my EVUS only allows me to stay until end of this December. My boyfriend has started the application for citizenship in Oct.. He has been a green card holder for about 10 years. However the waiting period for him to get the citizenship seems long. We are open to getting married/filing my green card application anytime.

However, two concerns stick out in my mind - 1. If my bf(US green card holder) and I get married now and start applying for green card and Adjustment of Status, how long will it take to process? Meanwhile, how risky is it? I've read ppl got denied and even deported when they came to US under a tourist visa and then get married. I can always go to Canada and wait until my legal immigration status is granted but obviously I'm pregnant and very inconvenient to move across the country. Any exception in law that can guarantee my lawful stay and green card and stuff? 2. If we wait until my bf gets his citizenship and then get married, can I still apply for Adjustment of Status and green card by then? Most likely I will be overstaying by then, and will I get denied/deported because of that reason? We are not sure about the difference between marrying a green card holder and a US citizen. Will it take longer for me get my green card if we get married now and does it affect the process of my bf getting his citizenship at the same time?