L1A Renewal Denied

L1A-to-L1B

Hi folks,

I have a Real Sad Situation. I have been running a Company in India for last 7 years, the company is profitable with 20+ Employees. I started a Company here in US last year and got a L1A Approved. I also hired a US employee as a "Independent Contractor" and we together made a turn over of $114,000 in the last 10.5 Months of opeartions in US , We also got over 100+ clients .

I applied for a L1A Extention and my L1A got denied , Reason - I dont have enough staff to relieve me of my Non Managerial duties. How does the USCIS expect us to hire a number of employees for me to Supervise in just 1 years of opeartions ? I mean dont they try to understand the fact that we dont want to expand for sake of expansion , but gradually only as the company expands ? Anyways thats Politics. Coming back to Politics Had I been a Treaty country Applicant , I would have got E Visas which dont need that you have to be a Manager or whatever.

Now My question is , Can I apply as a Specialized worker ( L1B ) ? I mean having run the company for 7 years abroad and 1 Year here , I do know the opeartions , our services and products in and out !

My L1A VISA and petetion Expires on 16th Feb,2006. How soon can I apply for L1B petetion ?

I am really concerned about my Growing US business and this L1A Rejection has set me back.

Also At a later stage if I apply for a L1A and it gets denied ( assuming my L1B was approved ) , will my L1B will get cancelled ? What happens ?

Regards

--

1. Get a good attorney (big $$$) to challenge the denial. There is no clause mentioned anywhere about the number of employees to be supervised on L-1a.

2. Parallely check to see how you can get a L-1b or a H-1b. H-1b is of course, a long time away which means you need to get out of the country. But L-1b may happen more quickly using the Premium option.