J-1 Visa Waiver.Procesing-Time Start to Finish.

aKalingan

Registered Users (C)
Chronological proceedings of J-1 Waiver process
Following dates are the "Actual" dates and have not been concocted. I have mentioned every simple worth while information that I could imagine, primarily to eliminate doubts arising then and there, during this long process. This is my real experience.

6th Jan 2003. Sent a letter and a Photocopy of my IAP66 Form / DS2019 and J-1 VISA to the following address requesting for "Advisory Opinion" from the waiver review division.
To
Ann Kavalou
Program Assistant
Waiver Review Division
Bureau of Consular Affairs
Visa Office SA-1, Room- L603
2401 E Street.NW
Washington DC 20520.

9th May 2003. Received advisory opinion indicating my profession is not exempted from 2year HRR ( home residency requirement) rule. They suggested me to apply for waiver. (Time consumed 4 Months & 3 days) I took some time to investigate this matter until I was sure about the documentation procedures and process durations.

15th July 2003 Sent NORI papers to Indian Consulate at Houston for attestations.
Instructions to apply, application forms and affidavit can be downloaded from this website
http://www.cgihouston.org/nori.pdf
http://www.indianembassy.org/consular/nori.pdf

28th July 2003 Received attested NORI papers from Indian Consulate, Houston.

8th August 2003. Sent NORI papers directly by registered post to (1) MHRD New Delhi, (2) State Home Ministry, Chennai and (3) Regional Passport office, Chennai at their respective addresses mentioned below.

FIRST
Mr.S.D.Sharma,
Section officer,
External Scholarship - 5,
Dept of Scholarship & Higher Education.
MHRD. A-1 / W 3 Curzon Road Barracks,
Kasturba Gandhi Marg.
New Delhi 110001.
India

SECOUND
A.P.Ganesan,
Deputy Secretary to Government,
Home Department,
Secretariat,
Chennai 600 009,
India

THIRD
Secretary-Government of India,
Ministry of External Affairs,
Regional Passport office,
26, Haddows Road,
Chennai
India