How many times can one renew a TN visa

dell11

I currently reside in Alberta and am a Canadian Citizen. I work for the petro chemical industry as a senior Electrical Engineer, all of my education was done in the USA and I have close to 15 years of experience.

At present, I am thinking about moving to the US, I have received a few interview calls from good companies. I am born in India so getting a green card would be a slog for me. I was wondering if i were to go on a TN visa, for how long can I renew it. I know at least the first 4-5 years is easy but beyond that if I am unable to get an H1B, for how long can I keep renewing my TN status? Can I stay on a TN visa status for 10 years + ?

If possible, I would like to move and stay there permanently. The US job market is very strong at present and i think this is the best time to move.

Please advise.

You can renew or get new TN -- in slices up to three years -- indefinitely.

Thank you Nelsona. I used to be on a H1B visa from 2006 to 2012, I was an Indian citizen then. I migrated to Canada in 2012 and naturalized two years ago, not sure if it affects anything. I have read another thread about TN to green card over here in this forum which is really my ultimate goal.

Based on that thread, I will get started on my GC as soon as my employer is willing to do it. Not sure, if you know the answer to this question - but did the new USMCA agreement affect or cause any changes to the process.
and what do we tell the border agent if he asks us " if have filed or green card or not" ? It is a violation of the temporary intent of the TN status.

I assume you are EB3 and are born in India? The current wait to file is 9 years. Unless you married a Cdn-born person, your wait will be very long.
Becoming Cdn citizen doesn't change your birthplace for EB purposes.