Freelancing for Canadian clients while on TN Status

F C

Hello,

I haven't been able to find an answer to this question on the forums...

I'm a graphic designer in the US on TN status, working for an American company. I've been asked by a Canadian client to work on a project. Is accepting this work while living in the US a violation of my TN status? I already have rental income to report to the IRS from Canada, as well as annual royalties from a business sale - both of which should be considered "passive" income.

As a Canadian nonimmigrant, is it really the US' worry that I make income from a Canadian company and spend that money within the US?

Thank you,
Frank

Also, if my wife is on TD status, is she able to freelance for Canadian clients?

Cheers,
Frank

Working in US is a violation of your status (either TN. TD, H1-B, H4, etc) unless (a) the overseas client you work for has no business in US, and (b) neither they nor you are "benefitting" from your presence in US (ie. you are not using resources, locations, etc, that would not be available to you if you were not in the US.)
This would be self-employment income, subject to US income tax and self-employment tax, but not any Cdn tax or CPP.

@nelsona is there somewhere I can get more information about the conditions you mention?

I am a Canadian moving to the US on a TN visa, and my wife will accompany me on a TD visa. She currently works for a provincial health authority within Canada, and they asked her if she could finish up some work remotely over the next year, after we move. The BC health authority has no business in the US, and our presence in the US will definitely not benefit them. I have asked elsewhere, but seem to get the standard response of "any work in the US is disallowed".

That work would seem OK. Remember that since it is Govt work, she would continue to pay CDn tax on the income, and would be exempt from US tax by treaty.