Feeling stressed: TN-1 denied, applying as Engineer (with B.Sc) now

deropolo

Hey,

I'm a Canadian Software Engineer that is looking to relocate to the US to work as a Software Engineer. I have a Bachelors of Science, with a Specialization in Computer Science.

I went to apply for my TN-1 visa yesterday as a Computer Systems Analyst, got denied because I stated that my job would involve programming when they asked, and the officer told me programmer is not part of their interpretation of the role for CSA and is a different position that is not under NAFTA stuff. I was completely unaware that programming was something I should've avoided as a CSA.

So my immigration lawyer decided it would be best to apply again as an Engineer, since they have a sworn statement that I will be programming. But this could be troublesome since I have a Bachelors of Science, specialization in Computer Science instead of an engineering degree.

Now I'm honestly feeling really stressed...I guess it's all up to the lawyer to rework the application to show that the position matches the NAFTA interpretation of Engineer, and that my degree is relevant and I'm qualified to perform that work with my degree, etc.

Has anyone had experience with applying as an Engineer without an engineering degree? Were you able to successfully obtain your TN? Anything you ran into that helped you? Is it just a toss up depending on the officer?

Also, the officer allowed me to withdraw my application (gave me a I-275 and I-877). Does this count negatively towards subsequent applications?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Yeah, you aren't an engineer, and the position is not an engineering position (nor CSA), so I don't see how "faking" your job description will fly, since not only are you arbitrarily changing the description, you are making it for a category you aren't eligible for. CBP isn't that blind.