f1 to h1 some questions

dpa73

Registered Users (C)
I am currently on F1 status under the OPT period. I have been working with a firm under curricular practical training part time (approx 10-20 hours a week) since June 2001 after getting due INS authorization. I have since worked for the last 1.5 years when I was in college.

During this time, I initially worked as an unpaid intern, then moved to being paid on a part time basis and then got a couple of huge paychecks in the middle of my part time training with the company because I had helped them work on a profitable deal. These huge paychecks had no relevance to either the internship stipend or part time pay as it was a share of the profits from the deal I helped work on. It was paid in addition to the part time pay and bundled together with the same paycheck and not differentiated as a separate pay. I should add that this kind of work is highly commission based but also had a meager minimum pay.

I graduated in June 2002,started to work full time and again helped the company cinch another huge deal and got paid another 2 enormous paychecks. The firm is now going to sponsor me for my H1B visa. But they have said that they will do so only for a flexible H1B work visa under which I will have a flexible work period of anywhere from 10-40 hours a week and get paid accordingly for the hours worked as per the approved DOL wage rate for my job. I wanted to ask whether this would be acceptable to INS and if it is would I be able to get my visa stamped at Toronto without eliciting any harsh questions.