F1 student working with SSN without authorization... what are the consequences?

foxmiller

Hi everybody,

I'm an F1 student here in US doing my sophomore year at a college. I know a lot of F1 students that work with their Social Security Numbers although without any work permit or EAD. Currently, I have been experiencing really hard economic issues that I was considering doing the same but I'm afraid about the consequences that might follow later on. Students say that none of them really had any problems so far, but what I am actually concerned about is what happens a lot further down the road? Like after graduation, maybe later on when I try to change my F1 to a work visa, or if I apply to Green Card or something? Does engaging in unauthorized work jeopardize being able to get H1B or GC greatly? I know it does jeopardize it, but HOW BADLY? Since I am present in US legally, and will be paying taxes to America's dying Social Security program do you think they might cut some slack? Or do you know anyone that got away with this?

I know I could apply for work permit since I'm here in the States for more than a year now, but I just transfered to this University and it seems to be really hard to convince my DSO that I need work... And you know how hard it is to get a work permit anyways.

So I would greatly appreciate if anyone could share their opinion, experience, or anything they know about the matter.

Much thanks beforehand everybody.

If you have a SS card it should clearly state "No work authorization without USCIS approval " And that's what it is -No work unless USCIS says you can work.
I do not think you should look what other students do.
You should do what is good for you.
Talk to your international student advisor. and see what they recommend.
If you really are having financial problems (and you should have to prove it) they will work with you to get things fixed.