EB3 to EB2 posting...change in nature of job, adding spouse...need advice

portingneed

Background: I have Bachelors in Arch and 5+ yrs of experience in 2-3 architecture firms. But I decided to change career, did a Bachelors in Nursing and I am now a nurse for last 1 yr. I don't have any IT experience. I filed an EB3 as "autocad designer" when I was into architecture and got my EAD (PD: 2005) but without my spouse who was in India then.

Objective: I wish to port my PD to a new EB2 so that my spouse will also file & immediately get GC. My spouse just came back to US and is looking for a job on a recently approved H1.

Questions:

- How is 5 yrs experience proven in EB2? Can my nursing employer combine 1 yr nursing as "similar job" with 5 yrs architecture experience? Or can an IT firm consider my 5 yr architecture "autocad software" work as IT job experience to file an EB2?

- My previous architecture employer, who I left in 2007, can sponsor EB2 in good faith for a senior architecture job provided I can take care of all costs. I can engage an attorney but is it advisable that a small firm (maybe a sole proprietor) file an EB2?

- Is there a chance that my spouse can file EB3 and still get EAD even though my PD is 2005? I have heard USCIS sometimes does this by oversight.

Last edited by a moderator:
Objective: I wish to port my PD to a new EB2 so that my spouse will also file & immediately get GC. My spouse just came back to US and is looking for a job on a recently approved H1.
Why is your spouse looking for a job with the recently approved H1B? Why not join the H1B job itself? Before you edited the post you mentioned that your spouse entered the US with a B1/B2 visa. It will be necessary to file a change of status, or apply for an H1B visa at a consulate before starting this H1B job (or any other H1B job in the US).