Don't live in the US but owe taxes

Deepak75019

I hold a green card which expires in a few months. I relocated back to India in 2007 and have stayed here due to a family situation. Due to a family medical emergency I had to withdraw my 401k (roughly $100K) in 2011 and I did not file taxes. Subsequently I received a tax notice and did file my tax return but could not pay the taxes. The tax and penalties I owe are roughly $25K. I do not plan to return to the US but may need to visit every now and then for work purposes.

Should I pay the taxes? If I do not, what is my worst case scenario. Can I be arrested if I visit for work?

Thanks

Definitely you should. The worst case scenario yes you could be arrested. I'm not a tax professional but tax evasion is a felony as far as I know.
You need a tax professional to figure out your options. IRS would let you do installments.

I agree with Deepak75019 and lvnp that this is a concern. Another concern is whether you've continued to file US tax returns. Even though you would probably be considered--for immigration purposes--to have abandoned your US residency if you ever tried to enter the US again with your existing green card, that doesn't necessarily terminate your residency for tax purposes:

You continue to have U.S. resident status, under this test, unless:

• You voluntarily renounce and abandon this status in writing to the USCIS,
  • Your immigrant status is administratively terminated by the USCIS, or
  • Your immigrant status is judicially terminated by a U.S. federal court.