citizenship eligibility

stunt123

Hi All,

I am trying to figure out if I am eligible but i do not want to make any mistakes.

so here is the question.

I am a permanent resident (green card holder through lottery) since 02/24/2004.

I was out of the US for 199 days (i was a student in another country) and I came back to the United states on 04/11/2005. Based on that information, am I eligible to apply now for citizenship or should I wait until 04/10/2010?? Since i came back I was not out of the country.

Also, i am not married (never have been). When i was out of the country (199 days) I did not keep close ties to the US as defnied by the fed (no family, no mortgage and no rent)

I appreciate your answers.

thank you

Last edited by a moderator:
You can apply in January 2010 90 days prior your 5 year mark.
You were outside US for 199 days and you broke continues residency.

You can apply in January 2010 90 days prior your 5 year mark.
The rule states an applicant may apply 90 days before they have reached 5 years of continuous residence as a LPR. Since the OP has presumed to have broken continuous residency (and by admission OP did break it), it would be pointless to apply 90 days before reaching 5 years of LPR status.

Uncle Joe is right. Check the dates. He is counting 5 years minus 90 days from the day OP returned to US and re-established continuous residence.

Hi All,

I am trying to figure out if I am eligible but i do not want to make any mistakes.

so here is the question.

I am a permanent resident (green card holder through lottery) since 02/24/2004.

I was out of the US for 199 days (i was a student in another country) and I came back to the United states on 04/11/2005. Based on that information, am I eligible to apply now for citizenship or should I wait until 04/10/2010?? Since i came back I was not out of the country.