Changes in US embassy in Canada?

Shiva R

Does anybody know about any changes in rules regarding getting a H1 visa stamp in US embassy in Toronto,Canada?

I have an appointment at the embassy soon but learnt that there is a "temporary" restriction on getting a visa stamp in Canada.

Thanks in advance,
Shiva.

DOS Suspends TCN Processing in Canada & Mexico

I got this from forworded email from "International Student Services" of my school.

=========== Forwarded Message ========

State Dept. Suspends "Third Country National" Processing in Mexico &
Canada
The State Department\'s Visa Office Managing Director has announced that the processing of visa applications from third country nationals who are not resident in the consular districts of the border posts has been suspended. Existing entry visa appointments are being cancelled. The Department states that this is a "temporary measure," but gives no indication of when processing may resume.Third Country National (TCN) processing is used routinely by individuals who are neither Mexican nor Canadian but who wish to apply for a visa at a US Consular post in one of those countries.

The DOS has indicated that the Department is concerned that the INS may be changing its practices on the borders. This appears to be a reference to readmission after a stay of less than 30 days in Canada or Mexico.

DOS does not want to burden Canada and Mexico with a large number of
visa applicants whose cases are pending background and security checks, but who may not be readmitted to the US.

DOS Suspends TCN Processing in Canada & Mexico

I\'m not sure as to the validity of the statement that current appointments are being cancelled. I had called the 900 number last friday and was informed that no new appointments were being made, but that existing ones would be honored.

Also, I wrote to the Montreal consulate and i reproduce the email exchange here verbatim.

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Tuesday, November 20, 2001 11:34 AM
To: