Can asylees apply for H-1B

Jameel

Registered Users (C)
Hi. It has been only three days since I came across this mailing list and already I have been benifitted from it. I was about to apply for the renewal of my work permit and after going through some of the mails found that that I don\'t need to. Thanks a lot guys.

I had applied for my I-485 in Dec-98 and obviously am still waiting for it. I have not been called for an interview so far. I got married last year (proxy marriage) to a girl in my home country. After the marriage my wife and I spent a month together in the United Kingdom (she had a British visa and I got a visa on my RED). I have been trying to get a US visa for my wife and have not been successful so far. Now, I am thinking about applying for an H-1B visa. I am an engineer by profession and my company will sponsor me if I ask them to. My only concern is that I might lose my work permit and my green card processing. I talked to many lawyers but no one is clear about this. Most of them said that it can be done but it might involve the risk of losing my asylee status. I am desperately looking for advice from someone who might know anything about this. I feel that I am the only asylee who might be trying to do this... that is why the asylum lawyers don\'t know about it.

Thanks a lot for your help and keep up the good work.
Jam eel

No Title

Hi Jack. Thanks a lot for your reply. I had been through the web page that you pointed me to. The problem is that an asylee can apply for derivative asylum for his/her spouse only if the spouse had been "included" in the asylum application. If an asylee gets married "after" being granted asylum, then there does not seem to be a way of sponsoring the spouse other than getting a Green card first and then filing a petition for the spouse....the whole process might take a good 10 years.

No Title

Dear Jam eel,