Buying US Car on TN Visa - Driving to Canada

SS0033

Hi,

I am on TN visa and bought a car from US (US Plates) and drove to Canada and the car was denied entry as i was flying out from Canada.
It was my fault as i was not clear about the process and they threw the book at me. So, either i had to go back or import the car.
I went back and dropped the car at a friends place in US side and crossed back to Canada and was pulled out again for inspection.
They told me to show proof of ties with US (Home Rental agreement) and to try bringing the car again if i want to.

Yesterday, i drove with the US plate car. I was flagged and pulled out but i was allowed to cross the border with the car.
But, the officer mentioned that the insurance will not cover anything if i have an accident in Canada.
He kept pointing out that a Canadian resident CANNOT own a car with US plates. Since i am in US for most time of the year, that makes me a US resident.
Since i am a US resident, i will be covered in Canada while visiting.

I know its illegal to have someone else drive my car with US plates in Canada. But the officer told me even my wife cant drive it.
I checked with the insurance and they dont have any problem with my wife driving the car as her name is on the insurance as well.
Once i told him my wife got TD as well, the officer told me to keep her visa copy in the car.

Need some clarity on this:
My wife have TD but shes not moved to US yet. Have her name on the insurance as well with a Canadian licence.
I know i cannot keep the US plate car in Canada but since i drove from AZ to Canada, i was planning on keeping it there for a month and bring it back.

I just want to make sure what i am doing is not out of the line and within expectation.

I am flying from Bellingham,WA to Phoenix,AZ the next couple of weeks.
Am i expected to bring the car back to US everytime i go back?

Can i leave my car in Canada for one week (Parked and no one will be driving it) till i am gone to US?