a serious warning to asylum-based LPRs

thankful

Registered Users (C)
http://news.sina.com/us/singtao/104-103-102-105/2009-02-26/06233670580.html

The above link is a Chinese language article (from a reputable newspaper that is published worldwide) reporting that Chinese green card holders (asylum-based) who returned to the United States after visiting China had their green cards taken away by airport immigration officers and ordered to see immigration judges. The story interviewed two immigration lawyers who said that this practice is becoming increasingly common. One lawyer expressed amazement that people claimed persecution could turn around and visit China. The story also quoted a LPR whose card was taken away. He was told by "friends" that it would be OK to go and nobody would care. He will forever regret the ill-informed advice.

A disclaimer is in order: Chinese is not my first language. I studied it at Yale University. Native speakers should read this story to double check.

I hope stories like this one counter the smart alec attitude of some asylum recipients.

Last edited by a moderator:
Wow..amazing! Well its logic though..why would you go back to the same country who persecuted you? China hasn't changed politically for the last two decades..same human rights violation.

So Thankful..what about people who renewed their NP but never went to COP?

neither sina.com nor singtao is reputable.
I am not questioning the story or asylum-based LPRs going back to COP.

OMG, this is devastating! I still haven't visited my mom. Tried to bring her here, she even got a visa, but she simply afraids to fly due to her condition.

I feel so bad and shameful because I am afraid to go. (not only retrurning here but getting to the COP) I was planning to go late April, because her condition is deteriorating. And now this! The only good thing is they refered the case to the judge. That might be helpful, in worst case scenario we can prove our case in court.