Will misdemeanor affects citizenship application?

jenishaa

Hi,

I am a permanent resident since 2005. I was eligible to file for citizenship in 2007 but never filed for one. I am thinking to file for citizenship sometime this year before my graduation. I do not have any criminal history or anything like that till Nov. 2013. I got caught walking out of the store without paying for couple of items. That day, I attended my friend's funeral and I was not in correct state of mind. I already paid store fines. I was told to get the lawyer for my case. So I went to the lawyer and he said that he can changed it to misdemeanor instead of stealing. Since this is my first offense and I do not have any criminal history, I did not go to jail. Now I am worried how this will affect my citizenship application.

Thank you.

Sounds like a conviction to me. Stealing could be misdemeanor. I'm no expert though. See a lawyer.

It all depends on what happened in court. If the criminal case disposition affects your ability to file for naturalization, you may want to reopen the case and work out punishment in such a way that it does not run afoul of USCIS

(1) Did you plead guilty or no contest to the charges?
(2) What is the state statute under which you were charged?
(3) Did the judge give any suspended sentence or probation?
(4) Did your criminal lawyer and judge inform you about the immigration impact of pleading guilty?

Theft or stealing is considered a CIMT (Crime of Moral Turpitude). If there is only one CIMT, then it can be construed as petty offense. It can cause you grief in the citizenship application or make you wait another 5 years before applying.

Here is the warning - Conviction of two CIMTs will make the person deportable. So take care not to get in any other problems.

I am going through grief myself for something which happened 14 years ago. Did lot of research in CIMT and immigration provisions. USCIS immigration laws can get your simple unfortunate actions in a trap.