Will I receive a favorable waiver recommendation?

kanty

Registered Users (C)
I am a graduate student on a J-1 visa and I'm subject to the 2 yr HRR.
I receive funding from the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). My active field of research is Bioinformatics and Life Sciences. Would it be possible to know if the HRR is due to the government funding or due to the fact that my field of research comes under the 'Exchange Visitor Skill List'?

I am eager to know this because when I apply for a no-objection statement, there is a good chance that DOS would require a nod from NIH (funding agency), if the HRR is based on government funding. In general, NIH's current policy is to object such requests.

On the other hand, if the HRR is due to 'Exchange Visitor Skill List', I believe my sponsoring agency (In my case, it is my university) will be primarily responsible for handling the requests. In that case, I think I may receive a favorable waiver recommendation.

If your university is your visa sponsor and you just happen to be funded by an NIH grant, then NIH will have no say in the waiver process. Does your DS-2019 mention NIH anywhere? If not, then you should be in the clear. Of course, your home country could refuse your request for a No Objection statement if they think your skills are valuable to them, but that really depends on your country. Many countries do not have any objections.

I was a PhD student in computer science and received a monthly stipend from my department. The funding came from NASA and ARO grants (government funding), but that was irrelevant to my waiver application. What mattered was that my original visa sponsor was IIE because I came to the U.S. as a Fulbright Fellow. I got a favorable recommendation without either NASA or ARO being contacted (to the best of my knowledge).

Hi running_swede,