What after the 2 year requirement ?

hassan731

Registered Users (C)
hi,
i would love to know, if one wants to come back to the States after finishing the 2 year home country residency, how should he proceed ?
and what are the chances of getting a work permit (or any otherVisa) after fulfilling that requirement ?

Thanks a lot in advance

Depending on what your situation is you can come back on H1 B or any other visa after 2 year HRR. I am a physician so was able to come back on H1B after 2 year HRR after getting sponsored by a university.

You always had/have a choice not to take J1 if it was/is coming with the 2 year requirement. The rationale for it depends on what kind of program/work your J1 was connected to. The skills list and government sponsorship are perfectly good reasons to require people to “bring the knowledge” back to their countries. Waiver process seems to be working quite well, at least for the majority of people and by being on J1 people make connections, network and hopefully get a better chance to get H1b as oppose to having no experience whatsoever. So I do not see the reason for being upset…

agree

i agree with nemo,
especially this isn't even our country of origin, i think we should even be thankful we have had a chance to prove our knowledge and skills through our J1 visa.
it may be a long process to obtain a waiver or other visas but i would rather be thankful than upset.

but the problem for me is that i cant get a waiver unless a government agency tells me to stay, and that's like soo tough.
i just got to the US, and my program is 100% financed by the US department of State ! that means it's kind of difficult to get a waiver.
so what am I supposed to do ? come back home and stay 2 years and then apply for an H1B ?