Urgent please respond: F1-H1B, quitting PhD

rgpr

Dear All,

I currently hold an F1 visa and am enrolled in a PhD program. I want to discontinue PhD and work on an H1B visa. I have an MS degree from a US University and had used up the OPT period in the past.

My questions are as follows:

--Is it legal to quit the PhD program and file for H1B if someone is willing to hire me?

--Given this is the Month of March/April if I get a job now how may I be able to work for an employer?

--How do I maintain status until October 1st? I have been in the PhD program for just one year. Is it possible to file for a pre-completion OPT for the PhD program and start working for an employer to get H1B and eventually quit PhD?

--If the change of status from F1 -H1B is approved will visa stamping in India be an issue? (I got my current F1 visa only after clearance for a 221g case).

Thank you very much for your help.

--Is it legal to quit the PhD program and file for H1B if someone is willing to hire me?
Yes, but you need to be aware that you do not accumulate unlawful presence. This will be determined by your end day in SEVIS and you have to discuss that with your DSO.

--Given this is the Month of March/April if I get a job now how may I be able to work for an employer?
You won't be able to work for the new employer even with an approved H1B until Oct. 1, 2010.

--How do I maintain status until October 1st? I have been in the PhD program for just one year. Is it possible to file for a pre-completion OPT for the PhD program and start working for an employer to get H1B and eventually quit PhD?