Tourist Visa Holder marrying a US Citizen

masterman

Hi! I'm new to this and would like to get more info on my situation. My girlfriend wants me to go to the US and marry her there, I only have a Tourist Visa right now.

Question:
1. Is it illegal for her to petition me right away after marriage?
2. What should we do after marriage if number one is illegal?
3. What should she file for my petition, is it the K-Visa?

Thanks in advance!

this is where you would want to consult a lawyer.

INS doesn't like it when people try to immigrate just on a tourist visa alone.

In fact I don't think you will be able to do that.

she may have to go back and apply for a K visa.

Chances of rejection is high, if you enter in tourist visa and marry US Citizen. So its better to get K-1 visa, and adjust the status to obtain Green Card.

Hi! I'm new to this and would like to get more info on my situation. My girlfriend wants me to go to the US and marry her there, I only have a Tourist Visa right now.

Question:

Thanks in advance!

To answer your actual questions.

1.) Yes, in this case it would be illegal BECAUSE you already have an immigrant intent and would be committing immigration fraud upon entry IF you try to stay and adjust status.

1.) No, she could immediately file an I-130 for you as her spouse BUT would need to indicate that you will be pursuing Consular Processing abroad AND then you depart within the time allotted on your I-94. HOWEVER, If you told the CBP Officer that you were coming here to get married, you would be denied entry unless you had a K-1 visa.

2.) Why would you ask this IF you contemplate that your girlfriend's plan is illegal? Don't pursue the foolish course of action. Have her file an I-129F on your behalf so that you can come as her Fiance and legally enter and legally marry and legally stay and file for adjustment of status.

3.) The proper form is I-129F for a K-1 visa. See form at www.uscis.gov

Last edited by a moderator:

Question: