TN Status - Job title vs job duties

Bslon

I am planning to seek a TN as an economist to the US.

The employer letter of support has the job title phrased as "director of finance (economist)" and proceeds to state that the occupation is designated as an economist and the job duties listed generally relate to that of an economist under NAFTA. I will be carrying information on the economist duties under the Occupational Handbook as well.

My questions are:
- Will the director title be a problem at the border? The Dictionary of Occupational Titles does state that an economist "may supervise and assign work to staff".

- Will they acknowledge the economist job title when it is listed in brackets?

I should note I have a degree in economics, as well as previous years of experience in economist positions (exact title) from Canada.

I would appreciate any advice and background information I should take with me to the POE to support the application. Thanks

The internal corporate job title is meaningless in a TN . The outline of tasks you will perform is the key, and they should concur with the DOT. Does the letter outline your duties?

The problem you might face is the supervisor issue. TN's are not for managers, reagrdless of what DOT includes for economists. So the title of "Director" in US terms is usually considerd quite a high managerial position.

The internal corporate job title is meaningless in a TN . The outline of tasks you will perform is the key, and they should concur with the DOT. Does the letter outline your duties?

The problem you might face is the supervisor issue. TN's are not for managers, reagrdless of what DOT includes for economists. So the title of "Director" in US terms is usually considerd quite a high managerial position.
Thank you for the prompt response Nelsona.

So where does it state in the INS handbook that TN is a non-managerial status?