TN Status - Job and TN application advice

Alocia

Has anyone applied for the TN status recently? Has the screening process become more difficult under Trump or it stay the same?

I am a registered professional engineer in Canada. I have a B.Sc. in Civil Engineering with a reputable Canadian university (ABET accredited program). I have also worked with large construction and engineering companies for the last 10 years.

While applying for positions in the US, I was able to get 4 out of 4 interviews. However, when I mentioned that I will need TN status, they all turned me down and said they are not sponsoring anyone at the moment. From my understanding, the TN status is a much quicker and painless application than the H1B visa. It's a status that I can apply myself (with some support from the hiring company), am I correct? One website recommended applicants to tell the hiring company that "I don't require sponsorship and I can be available to work in a week or two." The post was written a few years ago - is this (still) true? I want to be honest up front about my status, but I don't want to 'scare' the company off. Will someone able to shed some light and provide some feedback on this?

Lastly, if I receive a job offer, will going to the border, completing the TN interview, and obtaining the status AHEAD of time the way to go? Ahead of the actual arrival date for the position. Will this guarantee a smoother border experience when I am traveling to the US for the position? Or is it frown upon? It would be terrible to fly there for a job and get turned around at the border, especially when I live close to the border now and can do it ahead of the time.

Thank you, everyone, for your input in advance!

hi Alocia,

1. dont worry about the administration. Instead focus on a solid TN package
  2. The process to get TN (if you qualify) is much more straight fwd as compared to H1 process