TN - GC

ravian91

Hi,

This topic has been discussed various times but i would like to confirm the following before i approach my employer. My timeline as follows

- Entered in USA on TN (valid until 03/2018). I was issued 2 years TN as per request from my employer
- Employer promised to apply for green card after probation - TN-H1B- GC.
- My employer is non-profit organization so they don't have to go through the lottery.

My question is can my employer H1B and LC at the same time? They promised to apply for H1B after 3 months and then GC. I would like them to start H1B and LC at the same time to save time.

The job itself is EB2 ( I have masters and 10+ yrs of experience in IT). I was born in Pakistan so hoping it won't take long once the LC is done.

regards,

Per my understanding, there is nothing that prevents H1b and LC to be done at the same time. LC is a time consuming process so the sooner it starts the better. Good luck.

There is no need for the H1-B to proceed with PERM (LC is no longer used) but is a slightly "better" status than TN if you were to need this long-term, as long as employer does not delay for one second the PERM process under the misconception of "needing" H1-B first (sounds like they already have this incorrect notion).
Pakistan is not under any quota restrictions, so you should get GC as fast as any non-Indian, non-Chinese petitioner, ie within 18 months.

There is no need for the H1-B to proceed with PERM (LC is no longer used) but is a slightly "better" status than TN if you were to need this long-term, as long as employer does not delay for one second the PERM process under the misconception of "needing" H1-B first (sounds like they already have this incorrect notion).
Pakistan is not under any quota restrictions, so you should get GC as fast as any non-Indian, non-Chinese petitioner, ie within 18 months.

Thanks Nelsona and Hello Mister!

So nothing is stopping them to apply for H1B and PERM at the same time?