Re-entry Permit Biometrics

Alien2010

Registered Users (C)
How long does it take to get one? Can I file it then leave the states, come back for fingerprinting leave again and the lawyer can collect and forward it to me overseas?
I have seen conflicting info:
Page 2 of I-131 Instructions:
"However, if biometric collection is required and the applicant departs the United States before the biometrics are collected, the application may be denied"

USCIS website (USCIS Biometric Changes for Re-entry Permits and Refugee Travel Documents)
(http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/us...toid=9c1161ccdc20b110VgnVCM1000004718190aRCRD)
Q. I am a Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR) who will be out of the US for more than 1 year? What documents will I need to return to the US?