new J1 after J1?

malkwan

Registered Users (C)
Dear All,

I am a lab technician (no bachelor’s degree) working in an university research center with a J1 visa issued on 2004, then reniewed on 2007 and expiring this year, on Oct. 31. I was told I cannot apply for an H1B visa after the J1 because it requires at least a bachelor’s degree. Both of my J1 visa stamps say “bearer not subject to 212(E). Two year rule does not apply”. Does this mean I can apply for a new J1 visa, in another institution, without coming back to my country? Also can I apply for a green card with my J1? Thank you very much for your reply.

Sorry for the repeated issue, I didn’t check enough threads…..so now I know about this bar period. I have another question tho: my visa expires on Oct., what if I leave before, let’s say August? the bar year(s) will start from Aug. or Oct? thanks so much guys.

Sorry for the repeated issue, I didn’t check enough threads…..so now I know about this bar period. I have another question tho: my visa expires on Oct., what if I leave before, let’s say August? the bar year(s) will start from Aug. or Oct? thanks so much guys.

Start from the day you leave the country (Aug not Oct)

switching without break

I was told by someone in the field of immigration law that switching to another J1 program, without a period that I was off J1, will allow me to stay in US. I am not sure whether what she said it correct though. You may check this with the visa officer of your institution or the new institution that you are considering. Or, contact some immigration lawyers. If you find more information, please share it with us here.