N400 and marriage question

dougalted

Registered Users (C)
Hello all,
I have been a permanent resident in USA for last 4 and a half year. Soon I will be eligible to apply for citizenship. I am not sure if getting married before or after the N400 application matters for naturalization process. My would be spouse is here on a F1 VISA for last few years. Can somebody help me with this dilemma, i.e. is it better to get married now and apply for N400 or get married while N400 is being processed or wait all way until N400 is completed? What are possible issues, if any, on these cases?
Thanks in advance.

DougalTed

Assuming that after marriage you intend to adjust your spouse's status to a permanent resident, marrying before or after the citizenship does not make much of a difference. When you adjust status for your spouse you will file an i-130 petition to establish your relationship and an i-485(along with a bunch of supporting forms) to adjust your spouse's status. Only difference between a LPR's spouse and CZ's spouse here is that in the former case you will file an i-130 first, wait for it to be approved, for a visa number to be available and then to apply for the 485, all of which could take some time. In the latter case, you "simul-file" the 130 and 485 as there is not concept of waiting for a visa number for the spouse of a citizen.
But regardless of this difference, if you filed for a 130 when you an LPR and then you become a citizen, you can "upgrade" your spouse's application by writing to USCIS with your proof of citizenship and then immediately file 485 for adjustment of status.
So as you see, there is really no difference.
Short summary of this longwinded explanation is .. "let your heart guide your marriage decision" :D

dougalted said:
Hello all,