Marriage to a US Citizen while in USA on a Visitor's Visa?

stayvisible

Registered Users (C)
Hello. I am soon to become a US Citizen. I am currently a Legal Permanent Resident (GC Holder). My beautiful fiancee is French and currently lives in France. We wish to marry and live in the USA. My fiancee intends to come to the USA on a visitor's visa (3 months). After this time she intends to return to France briefly, before returning to the USA again on a Visitor's visa (3 months). Upon her return we would like to marry in the USA and then apply for Adjustment of Status (AOS) for her so that we can remain together and she can live with me in California. Filing form I-485 would appear to allow us to do this.

I have read a great deal on this forum about the do's and don'ts of fiancee's and marriage to USA citizens. As far as I can see there is nothing illegal about our proposed method of pursuing marriage and our life together in a timely manner. I was curious if anyone else has gone through a similar process and can offer guidance/insight/help?

Am I correct in my interpretation of the rules regarding this? I would be very grateful for any insight forum members/moderators could give me on this subject.

Cheers,

Andy :)

Hm. About the first visit, there is nothing actually wrong with her coming to visit on a visitor's visa with the intent of going back home again. Only problem is that she might have problems at the PoE, because she is engaged to you, and they might doubt her intent of going home again (and they would be right concerning your plans for her second visit!!).
You know, a lot of people have adjusted their status having entered on a visitor's visa (like me), but I wasn't engaged when I entered and I didn't have a marriage in mind just yet!! It is a grey area, but it works. But honestly, if USCIS knew her (and your) intentions, you could get problems at the interview.