I94 Issue when crossing US/Canada Border

kushan

Hi Experts,

I have a question regarding I94 when crossing US/Canada Border.

Usually, I should surrender my I94 when leaving US. However, since I am going to land in Canada and come back in two days, whom I should talk to withhold my I94, Canadian Officer or US Officer? I heard that at some port, you can go directly to the Canada port and there will not be any US officer to check your I94. If I withhold my I94 at the canada port and come back, how would US officer know my stay is less than 30 days?

I would really appreciate if any one could share his/her exprience on leaving and reenter the port through car.

I am no expert but here are my two cents:

If you have a return air ticket, that is enough to prove that u have had a short stay. Or you can just say that the airline rep did not take the I94. There is a clear 30 day rule.

I have a similar issue. I actually left for India and the airline rep never took the lower part of the I797, she only took the I94 stapled to the passport. Do u know if this is a problem ?

sorry, did not see the mention of car crossing.
Check with Vault/Ray etc. They have a lot of knowledge on this. Quite honestly, i have never had an I94 problem at the Candian border. (as long as u have a valid visa stamped in the passport)

Should I retain the rental receipt of the car or something so that the US officer will know I stay in Canada less than 30 days? Or, they will stamp the date on your passport and they know how long you stay in Canada? Guys, please help.

keep the rental car receipt etc...