I-140 denial 3-Yr Deg/Apprvd Edu Eval using MTR/Appeal

Karthick_Kris

Just want to share with you my situation(Today is my happiest day).
My I-140/485 was filed concurrently. My 6 year H1 expired when both were pending. I was on EAD/Parole(so did not bother to apply for 7 th year extn). In the meantime my I-140 got rejected due to 3-Year degree. My case was filed in Nebraska service center.
In the meantime, I got my education evaluation done from degree.com(thru an evaluator Sheila Danzig - 1-800-771-4723), She gave an course by couse evaluation(I have my 3-yr degree in computers) and proved that I have 120+ credits(equivalent of U.S degree) also she gave me an expert opinion. This was submitted to INS immediately as MTR(Memo to re-open)/Appeal. I got my I-140 approved and my 485 reopend !!! It took three weeks from the date my MTR/Appeal went in to have it approved. Please note, folks who are in the same boat, please remember to do the following:

1. Apply for MTR/Appeal within 30 days from the date of rejection(please be strict with this time line, even a day delayed will take the case to AAO, which takes like 15 months for a decision, and the decision will mostly likely be negative if you go to AAO).

2. Do NOT send evaluation from two evaluators, I have heard from my lawyer that those cases have been denied stating the reason that evaluations are not exactly similar.

3. Have a Subject by Subject evaluation to prove that you have atleast 120 credits(equivalent of US bachelors degree).

Hope it works out for you....

With regards
Karthick_kris

Last edited by a moderator:
I-140 Denial Approved (3 Year Degree)

Hi,
This is Sheila Danzig. I was very pleased to see this post. My client told me about it.