H1 Academic to O1

mougc

Registered Users (C)
Hello All,

I would really appreciate the advise of experienced members.

I am a postdoc in a university in US on H1 Academic visa for the last two years (can extend it for another 4 years). Now I have got a job in the industry but the H1 quota is already over for this year and I cannot transfer my H1 Academic visa to H1 industry visa. So I am interested in O visa category. My questions are:

1) I want to transfer from H1Academic visa to O1 visa. Is it possible? If yes does the company sponsor your O1 visa or can you hire your own lawyer and self petition like EB1-EA to file O1 visa for you (not dependent on the company).

2)Does your filing for green card in EB2-NIW category (pending approval) affect your chances of O1 approval.

3)Does your filing for green card in EB1-EA category (pending approval) affect your chances of O1 approval.

4) Once you get your O1 visa, what is the procesdure to shift to another company?

5) Is there any restrictions on travelling? Once you get your O1 visa stamped in your home country US consulate (or canada or mexico) it is valid for how many years?

Thank you very much in advance

Read below:
Hello All,

I would really appreciate the advise of experienced members.

I am a postdoc in a university in US on H1 Academic visa for the last two years (can extend it for another 4 years). Now I have got a job in the industry but the H1 quota is already over for this year and I cannot transfer my H1 Academic visa to H1 industry visa. So I am interested in O visa category. My questions are:

1) I want to transfer from H1Academic visa to O1 visa. Is it possible? If yes does the company sponsor your O1 visa or can you hire your own lawyer and self petition like EB1-EA to file O1 visa for you (not dependent on the company).