Green card holder - Want to study abroad

vik30000

Registered Users (C)
hi all,

i have been a permanent resident for over a yr. i wish to go study abroad. the program abroad will lat 4 yrs.

If I get a re-entry permit and come to US every yr during my school break, is that ok?

Also, how does this affect my application for naturalization after 5 yrs.

Also, what is this rule about staying minimum 180 days in US, if you have green card?

vik

Well, we discussed exactly this topic into deep. That's also my case.

My case is just slightly different because I got my green card through lottery in time when I was already student.

Your eligibility for naturalization will be postponed because you not gonna spend most time in the U.S.

I think you will be OK to keep your green card as long as you intend to live in the USA. The "intend" is important I think. You can get your reentry permit and return before 2 years are up - stay for couple months and apply for another one. The more you come to America, the better for you, but generally school should be taken as a temporary reason for staying abroad. Along with documentation from school you shouldn't have problems.

Others agree with me?

If I get a re-entry permit and come to US every yr during my school break, is that ok?
Maybe, but the permit is valid only for two years and the second one might be given for less than two years.
You're going to be spending 9 months or more per year outside the US for the next 4 years? That will almost surely cause you to violate the continuous residence or physical presence requirements or both. So you'll have to rebuild the required years of residence after you've stopped studying and returned to the US.
Also, what is this rule about staying minimum 180 days in US, if you have green card?