Green card for Medical Technician

rama2004

Hello,

I am a Microbiology Technician - working in a Medical laboratory on H1-B visa for last two years in US. Now my Employers wants to start Green card processing.
I have a three year Bsc(MicroBiology) Degree from Indian University , 3 yrs experiance in India before joining current job. In current US company I have above two years experience in same company as Microbiology technician.

Some(Lawyers) say I need to do additional studies , some say not needed to get GC.

What are my options before filing for Labour (starting green card processing).

I would appreciate any of your advise and suggestions. Also which category I would need to apply for ? Is any one (contact info) who passed thro similar situation ?

Thanks in Advance.

Rama
Ohio-USA

> Now my Employers wants to start Green card processing.

Better hurry up. I think Ohio is not particularly fast in the processing of labor certifications.

> Some(Lawyers) say I need to do additional studies , some say not
> needed to get GC.

If you managed to get an H1b, you will have the educational requirements for a green-card.

> Also which category I would need to apply for ?

Find a good attorney, it makes all the difference. A crappy one can really mess up your life.

If your employer files for you as 'medical technician' you would probably be in the EB-3 category (skilled worker).
There are two problems with filing as 'medical technician'. The official requirements are only 2 years of associates degree. There will be many people who qualify for this job and it might be hard to get a RIR labor certification. The other problem is the 'visa screen' process. In order to work in such an occupation you will need some certification from a professional organization (you might already have a visa screen if you are on H1b).