Got Job, NORI is under processing

Debalina Ray

Hello,
I am going through a tough situation. I applied NORI on Jan 2015 and received my 2 clearances from State by first week of February. From last three months I have hard time with HR in New Delhi. I am still waiting for their certificate. I applied in San Francisco consulate and they need all three. By the time I started the US-part from first week of March which is also pending.
Now I got the job, asked me to join May 4th, 2015. They will sponsor H-1B not J-1.
In such situation how can I keep my new job? My J-1 is valid till June 2015.
Please give me some suggestions.
Thanks,
Debalina

Hi Debalina,
Sorry to hear that you are in a fix. May be sending a friend or a relative directly to the MHRD in Delhi might help. I am no expert however.

Quick question: did you send the NORI requests to Kolkata? If so, did you send it by post from the U.S. or ask a friend or a relative to deliver them by hand?

I am about to begin my waiver process, and any insights on the Kolkata leg of the process would be very helpful.
Thanks,
Joyita

Jyoita,