EB1-C Multinational Manager

rolls

Hello Forum,

The Story So Far:
After 2.5 years of working in India, I was transferred from India to US in 2006 under L1-B visa as a Research Scientist for a large MNC company. I was moved to the US with the intent to take over management of a multi-national team spread across the world. During my 2+ year tenure in India I had helped to start operations in two countries and led multiple projects, even though i did not have any direct reports at that time. Currently, i'm still a worldwide manager with direct reports in at least 3 countries leading operations (that directly impact revenues of at least $120+Mn) and now i'm considering to apply for EB1-C multinational manager.

Questions:
1) I came on L1-B and then now am on H1-B (starting this year) and I have I-140 approved under EB-3 PERM with PD 2008; does this affect my chances for EB1-C? (I should've ideally done L1-A, but i wasn't aware of this option at that time). I've seen that most people do L1-A and then apply for EB1-C.

2) I read the EB1-C criteria and it says that even if you don't have direct reports, as long as you're a "functional manager" for a total of 1 year it should be ok; Does anyone have experience on this? I've started operations, visited one country outside of India started operations there, i was involved in hiring multiple people during this time frame, most of who are MS or at least a BE; does such experience count as functional?

3) What kind of documentation is required for functional manager? What do i really need to prove?

4) Does the fact that my initial PERM was filed for a Research Scientist role and not that of a manger impact my EB1-C? Is there any relation between these two petitions?

Thank You

Hi Rolls

An Interesting case, first I have to tell that i am not a lawyer. Your case is complex and may require a very good attorney. In my opinion I see following weaknesses.