• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

DV2014 Custody for minor Children

Kadeer

Hi people,

Ok now, My son is 16 yo and he will be accompanying me to immigrate to the US. For the interview at the Embassy, will I need to provide a custody document if his mother and I are divorced?

Yes, you will have to show that his under your custody.
And don't forget to translate the document if its not in english.

Thanks for your quick response:
I am a Syrian citizen,
1. In a divorced case once the child reaches 14 years old the father gets custody. This is the Syrian Law for custody.
2. My son and I have been residing in China for the past 3 years due to the war in Syria, and because of the civil war it is near impossible to get any custody documents from there.
3. We haven't spoken to the mother in 10 years and we're unable to reach her.
Are there any other ways around this?

Last edited:
I would suggest to contact the embassy, they might provide you with help.
Or if you can get hold of the syrian law code that stipulate that the father has full custody after the child reaching 14 years, than get it translated and show it to the CO...
Btw do you have the divorce decree by you?

vladek15425, Yes I got the divorce document and I just spoke to a lawyer in Syria that says he might be able to get me some kind of a law code stipulating the custody law. At the same time we are trying to track his mother to get some kind of paper from her (will she have to go to the US Embassy to have it written or certified?)
SusieQQQ your link is very helpful in getting better insight of what we might need at the border

If you can't trace the mother, and have not seen her for 10 years, there must be a way around this too. The embassy is probably the best to ask.