• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

DV Lottery - F1 important question

mhaffaf

Registered Users (C)
Hello everyone,

So I am a happy winner of the DV lottery 2012, ranking 2012AF00039xxx.
As soon as I found out I did everything that it said on the website, sent the DSP-122 and DS-230 + photos. However, I am not sure now if I should have done an AOS first. I am currently a PhD student on a F1 visa and previously I have had a Q1 visa for a year.
I obviously said all of that, said that I was an instructor in my university (I am also a TA) as well as a graduate student, gave only my address in the States...on the forms.
Did I mess up? Are my intentions to immigrate (since I am on a student visa) now will ruin my chances?
Please tell me what should I have to do? Do I have to do an AOS? Will they deny my application? Also, I am not going back to my country until next year until my 2-year visa expires.
I would love your advice. Thank you so much.

You did fine. It seems like your case number is pretty high so if you have a chance of getting a CG it would be through a consular interview. AOS would have been risky. The only problem with you sending the forms is that you explicitly state your intend to immigrate to the US. Therefore if you apply for a non-immigrant visa from now until you get the GC you will most likely be denied. HOWEVER, if you have no intention to leave the US until you have to travel home to go through the interview and collect your GC you will not have any problems. They won't kick you out of the country or anything. Rejoice.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you so much for your answer delit2727!!!