• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

DV Lottery 2016 Applicant

RedOnMaroon

Hello All.
My First post. I'm a newbie so please be gentle.

So, my husband is Irish, born and bred, Irish passport. Me, the wife, I'm UK born and bred, Uk passport. Kids both UK born and bred with UK passports. We currently live in England.
We have decided to enter DV lottery 2016. You've got to be in it to win it, so nothing to lose.
I am presently trawling the Web, finding out as much information as I can in readiness for 1st October 2014*

From my research so far, I understand hubby is eligible by birth. I think I'm eligible by chargability. Can we both apply? or do the kids (2.5 and 11.5) and I go on my husbands application??

On a slightly different subject. With regard to VWP, I understand an individual can enter USA for up to 90 then have to return. How many days before you can travel to USA again??

Any tips and advice would be most welcome. Thank you x

*approximate.

You can each apply listing the other & children as dependents. If your husband gets selected, it's a normal procedure. If you get selected, both you and your husband have to show all the qualifying factors ie education etc, and you have to enter the US together. This is explained in the DV instructions I think?

Just to reiterate what Susie said, if selected your husband should complete the process and enter the US with you. But immediately after that, he can go back to Ireland without causing any problems for your and the kids' GCs.

On the VWP, there is no minimum time t be out f the USA but trying to re-enter immediately after a long stay will most likely get you questioned and possibly denied entry and even banned for a while.