DUI over 10 years ago and Naturalization

PJM2

Hello,

I was hoping to get some advice, help, tips regarding applying for naturalization. In 1999 or 2000 I got a minor consumption of alcohol and in 2003 I got a 4th degree DUI (Minnesota). There was no property damage or bodily harm. I was detained for a couple of hours, got a DL suspended for 90 days and one year of probation but it was reduced and completed in six months. I paid all fines and completed all required classes and programs. In the last 13 years since the DUI I have no other incidents.

Will this impact my ability to become a naturalized citizen? Should I consult with an immigration attorney prior to submitting the N400? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

No it will not have any impact on you getting your citizenship.

1) it happened more than 5 years ago, so you've passed the good moral standing of 5 years portion
2) a dui is not considered a crime of moral turpitude (so the 5 year isn't really relevant, i just mention it to demonstrate a point)
3) "habitual" drunkard is a crime of moral tupitude, which by definition means repeat offender, you are not.

You don't need a lawyer, fill out the form and disclose this, also if you don't have them, get a copy of your arrest record and court records.

I had a dui and got my citizenship after 2 years from conviction date.

Good luck

Last edited:
No it will not have any impact on you getting your citizenship.

1) it happened more than 5 years ago, so you've passed the good moral standing of 5 years portion
2) a dui is not considered a crime of moral turpitude (so the 5 year isn't really relevant, i just mention it to demonstrate a point)
3) "habitual" drunkard is a crime of moral tupitude, which by definition means repeat offender, you are not.

You don't need a lawyer, fill out the form and disclose this, also if you don't have them, get a copy of your arrest record and court records.